Food · Home · Travel

Date Night: Aquitaine Boston

My husband and I decided to have a little dinner date night, and we finally were able to get reservations at Aquitaine Boston in the South End. Aquitaine is a “modern Parisian bistro” and you walk in instantly feeling welcome and “at home.” The dishes are traditional and delightful, the atmosphere is romantic but lively. It was my favorite (yes, my favorite) restaurant we have eaten at so far in Boston! The menu has a large variety of dishes, and also offers a prix fixe menu before 6:30, which we were able to order from; three courses for $29.95…such a fantastic deal! For my 3 courses I chose the “Soupe a L’Oignon”, Steak Frites, and Chocolate Mousse. Chris went with the Warm Beet Salade, Roasted Half Chicken, and Creme Brûlée! 
To start, the french onion soup was AMAZING, complete with truffled braised short rib and melted aged gruyere. For me, it would be difficult to order any other appetizer, because it was THAT good. Chris’s appetizer was super yummy also…the beets were sliced thin and topped with a sherry vinaigrette and toasted walnuts. He did think there would be more greens, but he was still happy with the dish and thought it was very tasty.
Next, the entrees. I ordered my steak medium and it was so perfectly cooked and seasoned with a black truffle vinaigrette that it basically melted in your mouth! (I think Chris was a little jealous) The frites were amazing dipped in a garlic aoili! My dish was also served with a large side of greens which was a nice addition to the plate as well. The roasted half chicken was served over a parsnip puree that was to-die-for! Wow…the chicken was falling off the bone and the skin was perfectly crisped. We shared a little of each, and were extremely happy with the flavor of both dishes. Desserts were pretty off the charts as well, especially the creme brûlée! I’m a chocolate girl (even more so with this pregnancy) but the brûlée was pretty spectacular. The mousse was extremely rich and served with homemade (yes, homemade) whipped cream…which makes all the difference in the world, doesn’t it? LOVE!
We were so thoroughly impressed with our meal, that we cannot wait to return! They also serve brunch on the weekends – which I’d love to try! I highly HIGHLY suggest visiting this restaurant…you will not be disappointed! 

Leave a comment